»The yummy droplet« – this is how it’s made
The Obergärige Hausbrauerei Uerige (top-fermented craft brewery) is not a museum, but an exceedingly modern food business where a craft rich in centuries of tradition is carried out. It goes without saying that the Reinheitsgebot, or Purity Law dating from 1516, is still adhered to, because its results are good and lasting, relying, as it does, on nature as one of its main factors. Which is exactly what we do, too: our yummy droplet is made of nothing but water, barley, wheat malt, and our Uerige yeast.
Don’t miss the eleven-minute animated documentation "Expedition Ueriversum" which explains the brewing process in a truly unique way!
zur Schrotmühle zur Maisch- und Würzpfanne zum Läuterbottich zum Doldenhopfen zum Kühlschiff zum Berieselungskühler zum Gärkeller und zur Uerige-Hefe zum Lagerkeller zur Filtration und zum Seperator zur Abfüllung
Malt – from barley and wheat
The yummy droplet basically originates directly in the fields, where select two-row summer barley and quality brewer’s wheat are harvested. The controlled addition of water brings to life every single grain. During this germination process, important enzymes, the so-called biocatalyst, are activated. The maltster determines when the so-called ‘green’ malt is exactly right by watching the growth of sprouts and radicles. Once it has reached the ‘perfect’ state, i.e., that in which it can be processed by the brewer, the germination process is ended by means of drying, or torrefying.
Already here, the flavor and character of our Uerige is determined through the color and flavoring agents, which are naturally created during torrefying. The finished malt used for Uerige beer has to age long enough first, i.e. four weeks, before it is brought to our brewery in the historical city center. The first step taken at the Uerige is the grinding of the malt.
Mash and Wort Tub
In the mash tub, the ground malt is mixed with water of a specific temperature and left to soak (mashing). This sounds simpler than it actually is, because only the exact temperature and the perfect timing gives the enzymes their power, which they need to break down starch into malt sugar.
To check if the enzymes are working efficiently, we put some drops of mash onto a white porcelain plate and add some iodine. Since starch takes on a blue color if iodine is added, once all of the starch has been transformed into sugar there is no more color reaction (normal iodine). At this moment, we can pump the mash into the lauter tub.
Lauter Tub
During the process of lautering (German for refining), the mash drips through the lauter tub, a kind of large filter which separates the solid components of the mash (the spent grains) from the fluid, the so-called wort. The wort is rich in carbohydrates (malt sugar) and vitamins.
But the spent grains are precious, too: on the one hand, they are very popular as foodstuff for animals (rich in cellulose); on the other hand, the regulars at the Uerige have long grown to love the wonderfully nutty flavor of the popular spent-grain rolls, which are baked with 5% spent grains. All that’s missing now is the hops.
Umbel Hops
How come that hops are such an ideal ingredient for brewing beer? Well, the hop plant, lat. Humulus Lupulus, contains resins and oils that are perfectly suited for the certain bitterness and aroma of the beer – and eventually they are also beneficial for our health. Botanically speaking, the hop belongs to the Cannabaceae family; it is a climbing plant that winds its way clockwise, and it is cultivated in hop plantations, where it grows up to seven meters high. In order to allow the hop to develop to its full size and bloom, no more than three shoots per bine are attached to a wire ‘guiding’ it upwards.
Once harvested, the blossoms are severed from the remainders of the plant, dried, and then pressed into bales (German: Ballothopfen). The blossoms, also called umbel hops, contain resin, which is later responsible for the bitterness of our beer, and oils, which lend the beer its aromatic hop flavor. Umbel hops are generally distinguished into two different categories: bittering hops with a high percentage of resin, and aroma hops with a high percentage of oil and a distinct, delicate aroma.


It goes without saying that we at the Uerige only use the finest aroma hops for our beer. Every year, directly after the harvest, these hop species are probed by hand. In other words, the Baas Michael Schnitzler himself carries out a manual and visual quality control directly on the premises to ensure that the hops fulfill the high quality standards expected for the Uerige beer.
The southern German Hallertau region, situated between Munich, Ingolstadt, and Regensburg, is probably the most famous hops-growing region to supply the Uerige with hops. Another important region is the Spalt, which lies to the southwest of Nuremberg – this is where the Uerige obtains most of its highly aromatic hops.
It goes without saying that in our brewing process we only use hops in its natural form; we do not use pellets or extracts.
Cool-Ship



After all of this heat, let us move on to the opposite – cooling in the cool-ship. Before nature can again become active in the fermentation process, we allow the wort to come to rest a while in the cool-ship. The wort cools off to 55ºC while in the meantime the cloudy sediment is separated from the wort.
Drip-Cooler



The drip-cooler is responsible for further lowering the temperature, eventually to 20ºC. The cooling water in the copper pipes of the drip-cooler take the warmth from the hopped wort, until finally our Uerige yeast can be added.

Fermenting cellar and Uerige yeast
What actually happens during fermentation was a big mystery to our forefathers, something close to a miracle. Of course, today we know only too well that in the fermentation process taking place in our brewhouse, the starch is converted into malt sugar, which then, in an equally natural process, is converted into alcohol and carbon dioxide. The right choice of the yeast is highly important to us: our yeast strain is safe and sound in the yeast store of the Technische Universität München/Weihenstephan.
Every year, our Uerige yeast receives a rejuvenating cure from the yeast strain, and is brought into action in our top fermenting craft brewery. Our yeast is top-fermenting yeast because during the fermentation process it rises to the top. Successful fermenting very much depends on the brew master’s expertise and sure instinct: he knows exactly when and how the fermenting matter needs to be given a finely dosed cooling phase. Once the fermentation process is completed, the former wort is called ‘young beer’.
Maturation Cellar



The young beer – or rather, the young ‘old’ Altbeer – is further monitored by our brew master during its secondary fermentation and vital maturation, for which it is deposited in our Uerige storage cellar. It is given (at least) three more weeks to develop that inimitable taste which gives it the pet name ‘yummy droplet.’
Filtering and Separator
The natural cloudy components and suspended solids that swim in the beer are very gently filtered in a separator and a filter consisting of various filter beds, mostly made of cellulose – filtering with feeling.
Here, too, our craft brewery adheres to the tradition of the Reinheitsgebot, the Purity Law. In accordance with our expertise, our personal conviction, and your well-being, we do not use any additives, stabilizers, or other artificial means of vamping up. Once our Uerige is mature enough to be enjoyed, we simply fill it into bottles, casks, and kegs – the natural way.
Bottling
In 2007, we opened our STICKUM annex, which also holds state-of-the-art cleansing facilities and a bottling plant for our – and eventually your – bottles and casks. Modern technology and absolute hygiene reign supreme here.

Come and find out more during one of our tours of the brewery (due to high demand, prior booking is recommended).
Our fresh Uerige is available in casks of five (called "Pittermännchen") to fifty liters as well as in crates of eight (0.5 l) or sixteen bottles (0.5 l or 0.33 l). But, to be honest, Uerige really belongs in a beer glass!
Overall view

»Dat leckere Dröppke« – so wird es gebraut
Die Obergärige Hausbrauerei Uerige ist kein Museum, sondern ein überaus modernes Lebensmittelunternehmen. Hier wird ein Handwerk mit jahrhundertealter Tradition betrieben. Selbstverständlich gilt das Reinheitsgebot aus dem Jahre 1516, das so gut und nachhaltig wirkt, weil es auf die Natur vertraut. Das tun wir auch: Aus Wasser, Gersten und Weizenmalz und der Uerige -Hefe wird bei uns dat leckere Dröppke gebraut.
Lassen Sie sich auf keinen Fall den elfminütigen Animationsfilm "Expedition Ueriversum" entgehen, der den Brauprozess auf eine ganz besondere Art und Weise erklärt!
zur Schrotmühle zur Maisch- und Würzpfanne zum Läuterbottich zum Doldenhopfen zum Kühlschiff zum Berieselungskühler zum Gärkeller und zur Uerige-Hefe zum Lagerkeller zur Filtration und zum Seperator zur Abfüllung
Malz – aus Gerste und Weizen
Der Ursprung des leckeren Dröppke kommt direkt vom Feld: Ausgesuchte zweizeilige Sommergerste und hochwertiger Brauweizen werden geerntet. Durch die kontrollierte Zugabe von Wasser gelangt jedes einzelne Korn zur Keimung. Bei diesem Prozess werden wichtige Enzyme (Bio-Katalysatoren) aktiviert. Am Wachstum des Blatt- und Wurzelkeims erkennt der Mälzer die „Lösung“ des Grünmalzes. Ist die optimale Lösung = Verarbeitbarkeit für den Bierbrauer erreicht, wird die Keimung durch Trocknung (das „Darren“) beendet.
Bereits hier werden Geschmack und Charakter unseres Uerige festgelegt – durch die Farb- und Aromastoffe, die beim Darren auf natürliche Weise entstehen. Erst nach der für den UERIGE ausreichenden Lagerung von 4 Wochen wird das Malz zu uns in die Altstadt gebracht. Der erste Arbeitsschritt im Uerige ist nun die Zerkleinerung (das »Schroten«) des Malzes.
Maisch- und Würzepfanne
Im Maisch-Bottich wird das geschrotete Malz mit Wasser einer bestimmten Temperatur vermischt (eingemaischt). Das klingt simpler, als es ist: Erst die exakten Temperaturen und die genauen Zeitabläufe machen die Enzyme gezielt stark. Sie wandeln die Stärke in Malzzucker um.
Den Fortschritt dieser Enzymarbeit prüfen wir auf weißen Porzellantellern, indem wir etwas Jodtinktur an den Rand der Maische geben. Sehen wir keine Blaufärbung mehr, ist alle Stärke in Malzzucker umgewandelt (Jodnormalität). Nun können wir die Maische in den Läuterbottich pumpen.
Läuterbottich
Diese Bezeichnung ist bereits ein Hinweis auf den dort ablaufenden Prozess: Der Läuterbottich ist ein grosser Filter, in dem die festen Bestandteile der Maische (der "Treber") von den flüssigen (der "Würze") getrennt werden. Die Würze ist reich an Kohlehydraten (Malzzucker) und Vitaminen.
Doch auch der Treber ist wertvoll:  Zum Einen ist er ein begehrtes Viehfutter (Zellulose), zum Anderen haben die Gäste des Uerige längst den wunderbar nussigen Geschmack unserer beliebten Treberbrötchen schätzen gelernt, worin 5% Treber verbacken werden Was jetzt noch fehlt, ist der Hopfen.
Doldenhopfen
Wieso ist Hopfen hervorragend geeignet, um ihn zum Bierbrauen zu verwenden? Nun, die Hopfenpflanze, im lateinischen Humulus Lupulus genannt, enthält Harze und Öle, die für die Bittere und das Aroma des Bieres und letztlich das Wohlbefinden des Menschen hervorragend geeignet sind. Botanisch gehört der Hopfen zu den Hanfgewächsen, ist eine rechts windende Kletterpflanze und wird in Hopfengärten kultiviert. Dort wächst er bis zu einer Höhe von 7 Metern heran, wobei pro Hopfenstock maximal 3 Sprossen an einen Leitdraht angelegt werden, um zu voller Größe heran zu wachsen und zur Blüte zu gelangen.
Nach der Ernte wird die Blüte vom Rest der Pflanze getrennt und getrocknet, um anschließend in Ballenform (Ballothopfen) gepresst zu werden. Die Blüte, die so genannte Hopfendolde, enthält Harz - dies ist später für die Bittere unseres Bieres verantwortlich - und Öle für ein hopfentypisches Aroma des Bieres. Beim Hopfen unterscheidet man prinzipiell zwei verschiedene Kategorien: Bitterhopfen - dieser hat einen sehr hohen Anteil an Harz; Aromahopfen - hoher Öl-Anteil, ausgeprägtes, feines Hopfenaroma.


Beim Uerige kommen natürlich nur feinste Aromahopfen zum Einsatz. Jedes Jahr kurz nach der Ernte werden diese Hopfensorten handbonitiert. Das heißt, Baas Michael Schnitzler persönlich führt vor Ort eine manuelle und visuelle Qualitätskontrolle durch, bei der er überprüft, ob der Hopfen den hohen Qualitätsansprüchen des UERIGE genügt.
Als wohl bestbekanntes Anbaugebiet, aus dem der Uerige seinen Hopfen bezieht, gilt die Hallertau: ein Landstrich zwischen München, Ingolstadt und Regensburg. Ein weiteres Anbaugebiet liegt im Südwesten Nürnbergs, die Region Spalt. Dort bezieht der Uerige einen Großteil seiner hocharomatischen Hopfen.
Natürlich wird aller Hopfen, der eingesetzt wird, in seiner natürlichen Form "verbraut", weder Pellets noch Extrakte kommen zum Einsatz.
Kühlschiff



Nach so viel Hitze kommen wir nun zum Gegenteil – dem Kühlen auf dem Kühlschiff. Bevor die Natur im Gärungsprozess erneut aktiv werden kann, gönnen wir der Würze auf dem Kühlschiff etwas Ruhe. Hier kann die Würze natürlich auf 55ºC abkühlen, während sich auf dem Kühlschiff Trubstoffe absetzen.
Berieselungskühler



Für die weitere Abkühlung auf 20ºC sorgt der Berieselungskühler. Das Kühlwasser in den kupfernen Rohren unseres Berieselungskühlers führt die Wärme ab, und anschließend wird unsere UERIGE–Hefe zur gehopften Würze gegeben.
Gärkeller und Uerige-Hefe
Der Gärprozess war für unsere Vorfahren ein Rätsel; geradezu ein Wunder. Wir wissen heute natürlich genau, dass bei der Gärung der in unserem Sudhaus aus der Stärke gewonnene Malzzucker auf natürliche Weise - durch unsere Hefe - in Alkohol und Kohlensäure umgewandelt wird. Auf die richtige Hefe wird bei uns grössten Wert gelegt: Unser Hefestamm liegt sicher behütet und sorgsam gepflegt in der Hefebank der Technischen Universität München/Weihenstephan.
Die Uerige-Hefe wird in jedem Jahr - frisch - als Verjüngungskur in unserer Obergärigen Hausbrauerei eingesetzt. Die Uerige-Hefe ist die "obergärige" Hefe - bei der Gärung steigt sie nach oben. Während der Gärung sind Fingerspitzengefühl und Erfahrung des Braumeisters gefordert - er weiß genau, wann und wie dieser Prozess durch eine wohldosierte Kühlung geführt werden muss. Nach Abschluss der Gärung nennt der Braumeister die frühere Würze das "Jungbier".
Lagerkeller



Das Jungbier - das junge Altbier - bleibt unter Kontrolle unserer Bierbrauer zur Nachgärung und so wichtigen Reifung im Lagerkeller des Uerige. Hier entwickelt es sich in (mindestens) drei Wochen zu dem unverwechselbaren Genuss, den wir dat leckere Dröppke nennen.
Filtration und Separator
Die natürlichen Trüb- und Schwebstoffe werden bei der schonenden Filtration durch den Einsatz eines Separators und eines Schichtenfilters, bestückt mit Filterschichten, die vor allem aus Cellulose bestehen, zurückgehalten (Filtration mit Gefühl).
Selbstverständlich hält unsere Brauerei auch hier an der Tradition des Reinheitsgebotes fest. Wir verzichten aus Erfahrung, Überzeugung und in Ihrem Interesse auf jegliche Additive, Stabilisatoren oder Schönungsmittel: Völlig natürlich gelangt unser Uerige - jetzt reif zum Genuss - in die Fass- und Flaschenbierabfüllung.
Abfüllung
Seit 2007 verfügen wir in unserem STICKUM-Erweiterungsbau über neue Reinigungs- und Abfüllanlagen für unsere (und letztlich Ihre) Fässer und Flaschen. Hier herrschen modernste Technik und absolute Hygiene.

Überzeugen Sie sich selbst bei einer Brauereiführung (wegen der hohen Nachfrage bitte nach Voranmeldung).
Unser frisches Uerige gibt es in Fässern von fünf ("Pittermännchen") bis 50 Litern sowie in Kästen mit acht (0,5 l) oder sechzehn Flaschen (0,5 l oder 0,33 l). Aber am liebsten hat man sein Uerige doch im Glas!
Gesamtansicht